Take Me Out to the Ball Game

Ever wonder where the song, “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” originated from? Well here’s the answer and just in time for baseball season! GO SOX! or Cubs…

Jack Norworth’s 1908 classic, “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”, which was written on some scrap paper on a train ride to Manhattan, New York. Norworth then provided those paper scrap lyrics to Albert Von Tilzer who composed the music which in turn was published by the York Music Company and before the year was over, a hit song was born.

Jack Norworth was a very successful vaudeville entertainer / songwriter and spent fifteen minutes writing this classic which is sung during the seventh inning stretch at nearly every ball park in the country. In 1927, he changed some lyrics and a second version appeared. Harry Caray, who is credited with singing it first at a ball game in 1971, once said, “I would always sing it, because I think it’s the only song I knew the words to!”

Now get up in the seventh inning and start singing your heart out!

Take me out to the ball game
Take me out with the crowd
Buy me some peanuts and crackerjacks
I don’t care if I never get back
Let me root, root, root
For the (WHITE SOX) home team
If they don’t win it’s a shame
Aahh.
For it’s one,
Two,
Three strikes you’re out
At the old ball game

Leave a Reply

