Seeking a Journey of Faith while Traveling the College Road

Seeking a Journey of Faith while Traveling the College Road

Entering into college is a huge transition. We, as students, are faced with many new opportunities, challenges, and freedoms. College is an entirely different path with many new curves and turns for the traveler to explore. I personally struggled upon entering college. I was nervous, fearful, and anxious even though I was trying hard to be enthusiastic about my new educational endeavor. I felt that there was a sense of emptiness within me. Could it be that I miss my family? My friends? Did I just not fit in here?  I assumed that my feelings of absences must be attributed to one of these factors, but as I thought it through all of these scenarios were not the truth. And then it hit me; like a bug on a windshield. The answer had been there all along. I was missing God. I wondered how I could stray from the Lord during the time that I needed him the most, but for some reason I had pushed him to the side and let all of the distractions of college life take his place. I had left God but God had never left me. So then, naturally, I felt rejuvenated! I was no longer empty, but rather overflowing in fullness. I thought to myself, “How will I create time for God?” The time has come for me to be active in faith and live it out in my daily life. I began to read scripture regularly, pray more often, speak with others about God, challenge my faith, and take time to enhance my spirituality. It was entirely possible to seek my journey of faith while traveling the college road! Whether happy, joyful, stressed, upset, or just absolutely drained the scripture provided me with words of wisdom, guidance, and encouragement. God walks in front of me, behind me, and beside me as a travel the college path. Below are just a few bible verses that may be enlightening to any and all college students. I follow in the Lord’s light and I invite you to as well. Now is the time to let God in!

Titus 2:7-8

In everything set them an example by doing what is good. In your teaching show integrity, seriousness, and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us.

Philippians 4:13

I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Philippians 1:6

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Joshua 1:9

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

Isaiah 40:30-31 

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

1 Timothy 4:12 

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

Philippians 4:4-8 

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable-if anything is excellent or praiseworthy-think about such things.

Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

1 Peter 5:7 

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Proverbs 17:27

The one who has knowledge uses words with restraint, and whoever has understanding is even-tempered.

Leave a Reply

