The Art Institute in Chicago

This post is going to be something different from what I normally post. I wanted to do something different, so I thought to just share with you guys my first time experience to the Art Institute here in Chicago this past Sunday. Yeah, I probably know what you are all probably thinking right now while reading this—The Art Museum? You chose the Art Museum among all the other cool and interesting things in Chicago, you chose this?? Don’t worry I don’t mind. In fact, I would have to say the Art Institute is totally worth going at least once in your lifetime, it was quite interesting.

Well, I went to the Art Institute not just cause I wanted to, but it was actually for a class of mine. Anyways, my cousin and I decided to go together and check the museum out. Walking into the museum it felt like a whole other world, a world full of history and visual images of famous artists and glimpses of the life that was experienced back then. At the museum there were different galleries that indicated different time periods and the artists of those periods. As I walked up to the beautiful paintings and looked at the number of people that came to the museum on a Sunday afternoon, I was quite amazed.

The areas of the museum that I really liked were the Asian Art, the paintings from the 1800s-1900s, the European Paintings and Sculptures, and the American Art. The thing that I liked about the Asian Art was the South Asian Art because I got to see the different sculptures of the Gods and Goddesses that Hindus worship and the different roles in the different parts of Indian that the Gods and Goddesses are formed as. I also enjoyed the European Paintings and Sculptures because I got to see the amount of effort these artists had in order to make such incredible pieces of artwork and how passionate they were about it. Some of the paintings that I really enjoyed was the Fisherman’s Cottage by Harald Sohlberg. When I saw this painting from far away, it looked like a real photo just taken from a camera, it just blew my mind away. And another Painting that I like about the American Art was the Marine painting done by George Inness. This painting also looked like a real photo, but it also made me feel like I was pulled into the painting and I too was sitting on the beach by these huge rocks with the ocean smoothly waving back and forth while the sunset emerges into the sky.

Here are some of the paintings that I really loved while I was at the museum.

A Marine by George Inness

Fisherman’s Cottage by Harald Sohlberg 

God Vishnu with His Consorts Lakshmi and Sarasvati (Asian Art) 

Well, I hope that this post was different and I hope you were interested in some of the things I shared with you about my experience of going to the Art Institute. I hope that some of these images  change your mind and you would like to also go check out the museum yourself too. This was just a short posting about my experience to the Museum, but there will be more next week.

Leave a Reply

