Sick at School-The Survival Guide

Hey everyone,

I’m here with your Survival Guide for when you get the bug that everyone is passing around at school. As a person who never gets sick, I was surprised to find out that I had caught the sickness that one of my roommates had. What I have learned from this is that it is important to see a doctor or head over to health services ASAP instead of waiting for it to work itself out. If I would have headed over on Monday, I probably wouldn’t have missed any of my classes when it got worse! I started to feel kind of sluggish on Sunday, and now that it’s six days later, I’m starting to feel better. It is also important to communicate with your teachers if you are sick, so they are more understanding if you are ordered to miss class and keep you up to date with the assignments and topics you are missing. Luckily, all of my professors were more than willing to comply with the nurses’ orders, but many of them require a note-which health services or your doctor can give you-as proof that you were actually sick. When everything is set in place, your main priority is going to be staying hydrated and getting enough rest because these will aide in speeding up your recovery. If you try to do too much, it will only guarantee a longer amount of time that you are sick, which is the opposite of what you want to do.

All in all, the easiest way to have a quick recovery if you get sick while you’re at school is to see a healthcare provider, follow their instructions on taking your medicine, stay hydrated and healthy, and to get lots of rest. Even though it’s difficult, it is possible to survive, I should know!

Good Luck and Stay Healthy,

Kelsie Winger

Leave a Reply

