Les Miserables: The Review

The novel, the musical, the movie…the story of a forsaken man’s redemption comes to life through multiple mediums, most recently in the Les Miserables movie directed by Tom Hooper. It may be the excellent portrayal of human emotion or the individual tragedies and victories of each character that give  someone of every age something to relate to. This timeless story always catches someone interest.

I’ve been able to see this movie for FREE since Benedictine University offers BenU students Free Movie Fridays at Odgen 6 Theatre once a month. I always look forward to seeing the latest motion picture with my friends and talking about the movie after. Now how did Les Mis match up to our standards?

I have to admit, I’m not a huge fan of musicals. Not only was the movie rather long, being over two hours, but every word was sung with the exception of a few spoken sentences. Why was Les Mis the turn around for me? While many people avoid the deep sorrows of the story (the name can be translated into The Wretched Poor, or The Victims), the music captures the experiences of the characters flawlessly. The movie succeeded in capturing me and making me feel what the characters feel. I’m not saying I would like to feel like a wretched poor one but let’s admit that we all have had our hard times and can relate to at least one of the characters.

In addition, the actors sung their lines live. So, instead of recording the songs months before the shoot, they could sing the lyrics as they act out the scene. I think this idea added to the quality of the film. Seeing Anne Hathaway sing “I Dreamed a Dream” was heartbreaking and watching little Cosette break her note to whisper her last lyric plucked a heart string without a doubt. And may I add that many of the lyrics are quote worthy and catchy to sing among friends. There is nothing better than breaking out into “Look Down” or on a more victorious note, “Do you Hear the People Sing?” This movie is honorably comparable to other forms of Les Mis because I believe it is successful in bringing the audience into the heart of each character’s story.

AND if you like funny parodies, watch this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4yxsRRnvkE.

Leave a Reply

