The Scholar’s Program

Since my roommate is in the Scholar’s Program, I thought it would be a great chance for me to give those of you considering applying some insight of what it entails. So, I went ahead and prepared an interview with her and I hope this gives you a better idea of what it’s like and if it is something you are interested in!

Q: How did you hear about the Scholar’s Program and what are the requirements in order to become a member?                                                                A: ” I heard about it through my adviser,  but I also came across it on the Benedictine website. The requirements to get in are a GPA of at least 3.75, an ACT of at least 27, a SAT of at least 1210, and being in the top 20% of your high school class. If you meet these requirements and want to apply you must submit an application with an essay, attend a Scholar’s Program orientation, and complete an interview. ”

Q: What does being in the Scholar’s Program entail?                                                                                                                                                                           A: “Every semester you are required to take a certain course called a seminar. This seminar replaces the general humanities you would otherwise have to take were you not in the Scholar’s Program.You must also complete 40 hrs of community service by the end of your sophomore year in activities that promote the common good in society. You must demonstrate proficiency in a foreign language for 6 semesters in a college study, earn mathematical proficiency in either college trigonometry  business calculus, intro to calculus 1, or analytic calculus.  Lastly, you need credit in an ethics course. Throughout this time, you will need to make an electronic portfolio that showcases everything you’ve done as being a part of the Scholar’s Program and you will be required to present a paper at either Benedictine or an Honor’s Conference. It’s necessary to keep your GPA at a 3.2 or higher in order to stay in the Scholar’s Program.”

Q: Is there something in particular that you enjoy about being a part of the Honor’s Program?                                                                                  A: “I like the fact that the topics we discuss in my seminar allow me to talk about more than what I get to see in my usual, everyday life. I also like the fact that I’ve been able to meet so many people from different backgrounds.”

Q: Are there any benefits you would like to point out?                                                                                                                                                                   A: “In the future, I know it will be a good experience for me to have had due to the curriculum and the experiences I’ve encountered or will encounter in academics and through community service. Community service has really allowed me to learn many new things about the world as a whole. ”

Q: Would you like to give any advise to those considering applying for the program?                                                                                                     A:  “I would like to say that if you meet the requirements and it sounds like something you’re interested in, you should definitely take the time to apply. There are so many benefits to getting involved in the Scholar’s Program and it’s an overall great experience to have!”

Leave a Reply

